• Features

Schumann/Godoy: Carnaval

scenes mignonnes sur quatre notes op. 9 per pianoforte

Music and poetry with Roberto Prosseda (piano) and Nicola Muschitiello, narrator. 

Text: Le Carnaval de Schumann by ARMAND GODOY (original in French)
Music: Carnaval op. 9 di ROBERT SCHUMANN 

Carnaval op. 9 (1834-35) is one of the greatest masterworks composed by Robert Schumann. it is composed by 22 short pieces, inspired by masks. After almost one century, the poet Armand Godoy (1880-1964), published a book of poetry, titled Le Carnaval de Schumann (1928). Inspired by Schumann's Carnaval, Godoy wanted to "transcribe" the musical atmospheres and the rhythm of each movement of the Carnaval

The project is a concert with narrated parts, where the 22 original pieces of Schumann's Carnaval are performed at the piano by Roberto Prosseda, alternated with the readings of Godoy's short poems, each one being inpired by the music just heard. 

The premiere of the project took place at Teatro dei Rozzi in Siena on July 14, 2015, within the Settimana Musicale Chigiana 2015 with Balletto di Siena (coreographer: Marco Batti), with the stage direction by Alessio Pizzech.    


downloadable documents